• Menu

Recorded webinar

Tailoring oxygen transfer: A key driver for bioprocess intensification

An appropriate dissolved oxygen (DO) concentration in the culture medium is a key driver for high bioprocess yields. DO is determined by the oxygen supply to the bioprocess system and the oxygen consumption of the cultured microorganism simultaneously. In high-density fermentation of aerobic bacteria and fungi, for example, a large amount of oxygen must be introduced into the medium to avoid oxygen limitation during robust microbial growth. In other applications, like the cultivation of microaerophilic bacteria for probiotics production or gut microbiome research, the DO concentration must be controlled precisely at a low level.

In this webinar, we showcase advanced strategies to control the dissolved oxygen concentration in the culture medium and to reproduce it at different scales.

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Importance of bioreactors’ oxygen transfer capabilities for bioprocess scale-up
  • Method for measuring the oxygen transfer rate (OTR) of a bioreactor
  • Hands-on expertise on how to optimize oxygen supply in high-density fermentation processes
  • Hands-on expertise on how to establish microaerobic conditions for lactic acid bacteria bioprocesses

Date & Time
The webinar took place December 08, 2020 at 9am EST| 2pm BST| 3pm CEST

Speaker
Ying Yang, Senior Research Scientist, Bioprocess, Eppendorf Inc.

Register and watch recording now!

I am aware of the Eppendorf Privacy Policy.