Webinars

From small-scale stem cell production to large-scale hiPSC-based drug development: The flexibility of stirred-tank bioreactors.

Stirred-tank bioreactors are gaining more and more importance in the industrial production of pharmaceutical products, biofuels and food. When compared with 2D-cultivation systems, bioreactors are easy to handle, and multiple bioreactors can be controlled in parallel without a considerable increase of workload. In stirred-tank bioreactors cells can be cultivated as free cells in solution, cell aggregates or on microcarriers in batch, fed-batch or continuous cultivation modes.

Date & Time:
Monday, September 16, 2019 at 9am EDT| 2pm BST| 3pm CEST

Duration (optional):
1 hour

Speakers:
Ankita Desai, Bioprocess Field Application Specialist, Eppendorf North America
Dr. Arie Reijerkerk, Head of Services and Innovation, Ncardia
Dr. Farbod Famili, Project leader assay development and high-throughput screening Ncardia

Key Learning Objectives:

  • Learn about the challenges and benefits of stirred-tank bioreactors.
  • Receive insights on the different impeller types and their geometry on cell growth.
  • Learn about the benefits and challenges of up-scaling a bioreactor process.
  • Learn about the application of controlled bioreactor processes to drug discovery and development.
  • Get the chance to interact with experts in a live Q&A session.

More information

Ankita Desai
Dr. Farbod Famili
Dr. Arie Reijerkerk